Housekeeping

The trip here was long. One of my row mates on the plane from Boston was rather upset about something. Her emotion made me think about all that I was leaving behind. Even though it is only two weeks, it might as well be two months. It took me a while and a phone call home to work myself out of that train of thinking. My life back home can surely survive without me for two weeks. Of that I am sure.

So far I have seen little of the island of Grenada. The taxi driver who drove us to the ship from the airport pointed out some of the “not to miss attractions”. However, I was put on watch from 8 am to 8 pm the first full day I was here. A watch is a group of people who are given tasks to complete during the time on watch.

Our group scrubbed every deck of this ship at least three times over. We were given some line training today so that when we do eventually leave the harbor we will know what lines to pull. There are about 180 lines on this ship and evidently we are supposed to know the name of each one and what it does in addition to being able to find it in the dark. I learned all that my brain would allow today. I also had an opportunity to learn about meal preparation aboard a ship. Making meals for a group of forty is a complicated task in and of itself. When you add in the fact that the scullery (pantry) and the stove are on opposite ends of the ship, the ship lacks a professional cook (deckhands are filling in), and the diesel fuel operated stove has no way to regulate the heat it throws with in its makeup, meal preparation can be a great challenge.

Kara

2 Responses to Housekeeping

  1. Meg says:

    Hey big Sis!
    Way to go. I’ve been thinking of you and wondering what adventures you may be experiencing. Your posting was a while ago and I’m anxious to hear more. We all love you and hope you are having the time of your life. Love, Meg

  2. mhc14 says:

    Hey Meg..

    Thanks for the well wishes.. I emailed you earlier today.. more posts to come love you, Kara

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

