Life Lessons

January 11, 2007

It has been nearly a week since we embarked on this adventure of a lifetime. Among our Mt Holyoke group are ten traditional aged students and three Frances Perkins Scholars. One might wonder why someone my age (38) might want to take a trip such as this.

First of all, I am a visual learner. I have read all about bunt lines and clew lines, standing rigging and running rigging, but to tell you the truth it did not make much sense until I began tugging on them. Secondly, because I began my family before I went to college and am now a single mother with four sons, I am extremely self-sufficient, very rarely asking a neighbor for an egg never mind asking a sailor to save my life. For this past week it has been a necessity for me to learn to depend heavily upon others.

This ship is all about team work and trust. We learn the ships hardware in teams. We take orders, answer and obey each order in teams. The Captain expects this of us so that he can assure the safety and efficiency of the group as a whole. Each individual is responsible for the protection of the ship and crew members on a rotating watch schedule. We watch for fires, floods and unwelcome guests. We protect each others lives. The day might come when the members of this crew will have to depend upon me.

2 Responses to Life Lessons

  1. tea says:

    You go girl!

    As someone who went back to college after a nearly 30 year hiatus (and raising a family) I can fully relate to your experience.

  2. Patty Merced says:

    Kara, I just want to say, that I hope your having alot of fun with your new friends. Enjoying life is one of the best things there is. I am glad you were able to go on this trip and I was glad that you were one of the chosen one. Just to show you that I am keeping tabs on you !! Ha-Ha!!

    Be safe and enjoy!!

    Your friend,

    Patty

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

