Not what I expected

January 10, 2007

I cannot believe it! Today is our sixth day, and many things have been going on in the ship. What I have done in the past few days was not what I anticipated. I learnt many things, from painting the ship, setting the sails to washing dishes. Basic skills such as painting, one would never think of learning in a tall ship.

For instance, one of the most interesting things I learnt was that of vaseling eggs. It is believed to keep them for a long period of time. This skill—I believe—is useful when camping or simply at home and especially in the winter because in the refugee camps, where I live, and we get a certain amount of eggs per month, which is hard to keep for a long time. In addition, one of the other existing things was claiming the yard, which was tens feet high. I was indeed scared of doing it initially, however, once I was up there, with the fast blue ocean under me, I felt very special, comfortable and it seemed as if I was doing it for years. Moreover, it was a great honor to meet different people with different sailing experiences and different background. I was truly impressed by the diversity of the crew members, as well as, the trainees.

To me this voyage is not only about learning tall ship handling, which is the essential aim, but also about teaching and learning from each other. Moreover, this trip taught me the basic leadership skills and community support. For instance, at night each one of us has an hour watch, when one is responsible for the entire ship. One has to check for things like fire, flood or simply keep people quiet after quiet hour. It is indeed not an easy responsibility, but it is a good lesson in life, because there is no such thing as easy duty.

Though it has been only six days and I got to experience so many new things, I believe that the coming couple of days will be equally exiting.

Senia

Leave a Reply

